PIN Kano Announces Shortlist Of Poetry Competition

The Kano Connect Centre of Poets in Nigeria (PIN) has released the shortlist of 14 for its maiden bilingual (Hausa and English) poetry competition.

Maryam Gatawa, the Public Relations Officer of Kano PIN, in a statement explained that the poetry competition is in memory of the 14th Fulani Emir of Kano, Late Alhaji Dr. Ado Bayero, CFR, LLD, JP and in honour of the current Emir, His Highness Emir Muhammad Sanusi II in celebration of his 3rd anniversary on the throne.

The following seven  poets are on the shortlist of the Hausa category.

Abdulhamid Muhammad Sani Matazu (Malumman Matazu) for his poem Taurarin Kano Biyu,
Abu Waraqat Ayagi for his poem Jallabar Hausa, Hafiz Koza Adamu for his poem Kamar Jumbo kamar Katanta, and Ibrahim Hamisu for his poem Kano Me Abin Koyi

Others are Isah Aliyu Abdulrahman for his poem Tabbas ita ke jawo baki guda, Rukayya Muhammad Bello for her poem Kano mai Sarautar Asali  and Shamsu Hamza for his poem Abjadiyya .

The seven poets on the English shortlist are Amara Femoh Sesay for the poem From Transformation , Bappa Maryam Idris for her poem Long Live The King , Hassan Mohammed Usman for his poem Prince of Kano and Mariya Abdullahi Sidi for her poem A Tribute to Late Alhaji Dr. Ado Bayero.

The others are Ibrahim Abdullahi for his poem Song of Bayero Mustapha,  Safiyya Kabir for her poem Home City  and Sani Ammani for his poem Mai Tagwayen Masu

The judges for the Two (2) categories of the poetry contest are:

Hausa Category

1. Nasir G. Ahmad 'Yan Awaki
2. Malam Sulaiman Mai Bazazzagiya
3. Bilkisu Yusuf Ali

English Category

1. Ismail Bala
2. Dr. Saka Aliyu
3. Maryam J. Alhamdu

Winners will be announced in the month of November 2017 at special PIN Kano award ceremony.