The Babishai 2017 Haiku Prize Shortlist Is Out – 8 Nigerians On The List

Babishai Niwe Poetry Foundation has announced a shortlist of eighteen for the Babishai 2017 Haiku Prize with eight Nigerians on the list

“The shortlist is filled with unwavering talent, intricate African imagery and recognizable brilliance” organisers say in a release this evening.

The shortlisted poets are:-

1. Charlotte Akello from Uganda
2. Usman Karofi from Nigeria
3. Kariuki wa Nyamu from Kenya
4. Anthony Itopa Obaro from Nigeria
5. Ahmad Holderness from Nigeria
6. Fred Kweku Forson from Ghana
7. Acen Miriam Carolyne from Uganda
8. Kwao Jonathan Tetteh from Ghana
9. Nnedi Ezenwa Ohaeto from Nigeria
10. Alawonde Theophilus Femi from Nigeria
11. Justice Joseph Prah from Ghana
12. Osemwengie Zion Nigeria
13. Abubasam Fahad Mutumba from Uganda
14. Akor Emmanuel Oche from Nigeria
15. Dan’bala Umar from Ghana
16. Obaji-Nwali Shegun from Nigeria

You may read the full winning haikus from here

Three winners will be announced on Sunday 6 August at the Babishai 2017 poetry festival dinner. The winners will receive cash prizes, will be published in the Mamba Journal and participate in selected literary festivals around the continent.

The three judges for the  Babishai 2017 Haiku Prize are Adjei Agyei-Baah, co-founder of the Africa Haiku Network, Mercy Ituri, a landscape designer and award-winning haikuist from Kenya and Emmanuel Kalusian, editor of the Mamba Journal.