4 Nigerians Make The 2017 Writivism Prizes Shortlists

Writivism has announced the joint shortlist for two 2017 Writivism prizes with four Nigerians on the joint shortlist of Eight. Munachim Amah and Blessing J. Christopher are on the Short Story Prize shortlist while Vivian Uchechi Ogbonna and Sada Malumfashi are on the Koffi Addo Prize for Creative Nonfiction

The shortlists were selected by the two different panels of judges for the two respective categories of this year’s prizes.

5th Annual Short Story Prize
Fairies by Saaleha Bhamjee (South Africa)
Mobache by Régine Gwladys Lebouda (Cameroon)
Stolen Pieces by Munachim Amah (Nigeria)
The (Un)Lucky Ones by Andrew C. Dakalira (Malawi)
This Story Has No End by Blessing J. Christopher (Nigeria)

Koffi Addo Prize for Creative Nonfiction
A Long Way From Home by Vivian Uchechi Ogbonna (Nigeria)
Finding Binyavanga by Sada Malumfashi (Nigeria)
Meat Bomb by Charles King (South Africa)

Sada Malumfashi, one of the two Nigerians on the nonfiction shortlist reacts to the news, "It is really an honour making it to this stage. There were so many incredible writers on the long list, so much talent, and I can see creative nonfiction growing with strides on the African continent. I am really excited at the prospect of attending the Writivism Festival in August". 

Munachim Amah whose story, Stolen Pieces,  won him the short story shortlist says he couldn't believe the judges read his story and liked it."What this means for me is that I will take my writing more seriously. Read more. Write more. Read some more. Write some more. This news comes to me with with a great sense of responsibility towards my writing and I am hoping to lend my voice to issues that matter to me" 

Winners for the two categories will be announced at the 2017 Writivism Festival in Kampala holding from August 17-20
Munachim Amah
Sada Malumfashi
Vivian Uchechi Ogbonna
The winner of the Short Story Prize will take home a cash prize of 400 US$ and take up a one month writing residency at Stellenbosch University in South Africa. Short Story prize shortlisters will attend the Writivism festival and win 100 US $ each. The winner of the Koffi Addo Prize for Creative Non Fiction will take home a cash prize of 500 US $.

The five shortlisted short stories will be published in Munyori Literary Journal. The three shortlisted nonfiction stories will be published on Enkare Review. All the eight shortlisted writers will also get to attend the 2017 Writivism Festival as special guests of Writivism.

The Short Story Prize is judged by Helon Habila (chair), Sumayya Lee, Ayesha Harruna Attah, Emmanuel Sigauke and Edwige-Renée Dro. The Non Fiction prize panel comprises E. C. Osondu (chair), Panashe Chigumadzi and Angela Kintu Rwabose.

This news was updated on Friday, 21st July.