Nnedi Okorafor, Other Writers Win 2017 Nommo Awards At Ake Festival

The winners of the 2017 Nommo Awards were announced at the Ake Festival in Abeokuta, Nigeria reports TOR.COM. Members of the African Speculative Fiction Society voted on the awards based on a Short List of nominees announced in April of this year. Congratulations to the nominees and winners!

The Nommo Awards recognize works of speculative fiction by Africans, defined as “science fiction, fantasy, stories of magic and traditional belief, alternative histories, horror and strange stuff that might not fit in anywhere else.”

The nominees and winners:

Best Novel

· Azanian Bridges by Nick Wood

· Azotus, The Kingdom by Shadreck Chikoti

· Blackass by A. Igoni Barrett

· Rosewater by Tade Thompson

· Taty Went West by Nikhil Singh

The winner

* Rosewater by Tade Thompson

Best Novella

· Binti by Nnedi Okorafor

· The Flying Man of Stone by Dilman Dila

· Hell Freezes Over by Mame Bougouma Diene

· The Last Pantheon by Tade Thompson and Nick Wood

· Ta O’Reva by Muthi Nhlema

The winner

* Binti by Nnedi Okorafor

Best Short Story – TIE

· “The Marriage Plot” by Tendai Huchu

· “Ndakusuwa” by Blaize Kaye

· “Sundown” by Innocent Immaculate Acan

· “Wednesday’s Story” by Wole Talabi

· “Who Will Greet You At Home” by Lesley Nneka Arimah

The winners

* "The Marriage Plot" by Tendai Huchu

* "Who Will Greet You At Home" by Lesly Nneka Arimah

Best Graphic Novel

· Avonome by Xavier Ighorodje & Stanley Obende

· The Corpse Exhibition by Chronic no. 3 Various writers and artists ed. Ntone Edjabe

· June 12 by Ibrahim Ganiyu, Chike Newman Nwankwo & Akinwade Ayodeji Akinola

· Might of Guardian Prime by Jide Martin & Toheeb Deen Ipaye

The winner

* The Corpse Exhibition by Chronic no.3 Various writers and artists ed. Ntone Edjaba