Out Of A shortlist Of 21, Judges Will Meet Tomorrow To Select 4 Winners Of The 2017 Morland Writing Scholarships.

The Miles Morland Foundation last week released the shortlist of 21 for the 2017 Morland Writing Scholarships.

Four Nigerian writers, Elnathan John, Eloghosa Osunde, Ukamaka Olisakwe and Umar Turaki, are among the twenty-one shortlisted names for 2017 Morland Writing Scholarship.

The Morland Writing Scholarship is a yearly award instituted by the Miles Morland Foundation and the scholarship is annually awarded to African writers to allow them work on a manuscript throughout a year without worrying about fund challenges.

The lucky writers to be awarded a fiction scholarship will each receive £18,000, paid over the course of a year to enable them to take enough time off to write the book they have proposed. However, Non-fiction writers may receive £27,000 over the course of eighteen months, if they need to do additional research.

The twenty-one writers shortlisted for this year’s scholarship come from South Africa, Nigeria, Kenya, Cameroon, Eritrea, Zimbabwe, Ghana, Gambia and Botswana. They are:

Gothataone Moeng – Botswana
Clementine Ewokolo Burnley – Cameroon
Nana Nkweti – Cameroon
Alemseged Tesfai – Eritrea
Dayo Forster – Gambia
Cheryl Ntumy – Ghana
Sitawa Namwalie – Kenya
Gloria Mwaniga – Kenya
Kiprop Kimutai – Kenya
Muthoni wa Gichuru – Kenya
Elnathan John – Nigeria
Eloghosa Osunde – Nigeria
Ukamaka Olisakwe – Nigeria
Umar Turaki – Nigeria
Fatima Kola – South Africa
Fred Khumalo – South Africa
Palesa Deejay Manaleng – South Africa
Elizabeth McGregor – South Africa
Tsholofelo Wesi – South Africa
Megan Ross – South Africa
Bryony Rheam – Zimbabwe

The panel of judges, with Ellah Wakatama Allfrey from Zimbabwe chairing, will meet tomorrow, December 4 to select the winning scholars for final announcement. Other members in the panel are Femi Terry from Sierra Leone, and Muthoni Garland from Kenya.