PIN announces shortlist of NSPP 2019

Poets in Nigeria (PIN) has released the shortlist of the fourth edition of the Nigerian Students Poetry Prize (NSPP).

A statement from Kolade Olanrewaju Freedom, Moderator of NSPP 2019 explained that a 5-man judging panel including Professor Al-Bishak, Professor Hulya N. Yilmaz, Dr. Obari Gomba, Kukogho Iruesiri Samson and Gbenga Adesina reviewed 504 entries for the selection of top 10 poems as the shortlist.

The shortlisted poems are as follows:  
• AN ARTEFACT OF A GROIN WAR | Ehi-kowochio Ogwiji (University of Ibadan)
• THE LAST DINNER (The Lost Piece of a Broken little girl) | Anuoluwa Olusegun Soneye (Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife)
• THE VISIT | Ibelachi Franklyn Chinedu (Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli)
• MICAH | Ogugua Micah Okoye (Enugu State University of Science and Technology Enugu)
• WAILING MOTHER | Oghenetega praise Offideh (University of Benin)
• AFRICA: A COMPENDIUM OF AFFLICTIONS | Hussani Abdulrahim (Usmanu Danfodio University, Sokoto)
• I RETURNED AND SAW UNDER THE SUN | Anthony Chukwuemeka Okpunor (University of Benin)
• SUICIDE WARNING SIGNS | Okpara Ugochukwu Damian (Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli)
• WHEN THE TABLE TURNS | Oladejo Oluwatosin (University of Lagos)
• TRANSFORMATION | Muhammed Sulaimon Abiodun (University of Ibadan)

Instituted in 2016 to stimulate literary creativity and promote literary excellence, the prize has had three grand prize winners – Noah Oladele, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife (2016), Bakre Fadil Adedamola, University of Ibadan (2017) and Godstime Tamunofiri Iberiyenari, Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island, Yenagoa (2018).

The prize winners of this current edition will receive a total cash prize of N300,000, awards of excellence and complimentary copies of the NSPP 2019 Anthology at the NSPP Awards slated for 6th July, 2019 at Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island, Yenagoa, Bayelsa State.